The logging occurs when you click on a verse in the palette or when you drop a song or verse into the playlist.
It currently does NOT necesarily occur which selecting from the playlist. It only occurs when
edit->preferences->Text/Songs to Playlist are referenced is set.
This is because if they are not referenced then when song or verse is added to the playlist it's format is changed to text and the song info lost. The disadavantage of copying by reference is that if the playlist is created remotely at home then the song need to be in the song folder at both machines. If it is not referenced the text data is part of the playlist and the song does not need to be on all machines